Quality Standards ( ISO,CMM & Six Sigma)

1) ISO (International Organization for Standardization)
2) SEI-CMM/CMMI (Capability Maturity Model)
3) Six Sigma

ISO (International Organization for Standardization) :
ISO 9001:2000: ISO is generic Model, Applicable for all types of originations, contains 20 clauses, certification audit is like an examination ,result is the certification is pass or fail.

It is based on the “PDCA Cycle” and the “8 Quality management Principles”

PDCA (Plan Do Check Act):
- Define a plan (DEFINE)
- Execute the plan (IMPLEMENT)
- Check the results (CHECK)
- Take the necessary action (CORRECT)

Eight Quality Management principles in ISO Standard
1. Customer Focus
2. Leadership
3. Involvement of people
4. Process Approach
5. System Approach to Management.
6. Continual Improvement.
7. Factual Approach to Decision making
8. Mutually Beneficial Supplier Relationship


1) CMM Certification is given to only IT based companies.
2) CMM Certification is given based on the process followed by the company.
3) If the company developed system software then it will get CMMI Certification.
4) CMM/CMMI Certification is given in different levels or stages.
5) CMM/CMMI is called staged Model.
6) Each Level has several KPA’s (Key Process Areas).

Six Sigma

1) Six Sigma Certification is given to any type of company.
2) Six Sigma Certification is given based on Quality produced by the company.
3) According to Six Sigma Certification for 1 Million transactions 3.4 defects are acceptable.